Android Tips

How to Delete Uber Account (via Uber App and Website)

Delete Uber Account (via Uber App and Website)
akt5252@gmail.com'
Written by Ashish

Uber is the biggest and a very popular aggregator of cab services; you can book a taxi from any location using Uber’s app, get picked up and head to your desired location in a well maintained air-conditioned car. If you travel frequently, then it’s certainly a good app to have on your phone. But there might come a time when you just want to delete your Uber account. This article shall help you to do just that by giving you information about the simple steps you have to follow to get rid of your Uber account once and for all.

Deleting Uber account through Android/iOS app

Step 1: Open the Uber app from your smartphone and make sure that you are signed into your account. Note that the following steps will remain the same irrespective of the operating system your phone works on (i.e. Android, iOS etc.).

Step 2: Tap on the menu button (the three horizontal lines) on the top left corner of the screen. In the menu that appears, tap Help.

Step 3: Now tap on Account and Payment Options. In the list of options that appear subsequently, choose Change My Account Settings. In the same list, scroll to the bottom, and you shall find “Changing my Account settings”. Tap on it and on the subsequent page, locate and tap on “Delete my Uber Account”.

Step 4: After you tap on that button, you shall be a redirected to a page within the Uber interface. Here, you shall be provided with a little bit of information, including the fact that your account shall be deleted within a month (provided you complete the deletion process). Also, it asks for reasons why you want to delete the app and discontinue using their services. Read through all of that. At the end of the page is a text that reads “Do you wish to delete your account”. Type “Yes” in the following text box and press Submit.

Step 5: You shall get a message in the app saying that your request has been received and the process of deletion of your account is underway.

Deleting Uber account through official website

If you’ve uninstalled the app from your phone and don’t want to download the app again just for the sole purpose of deleting your account, then worry not. You can delete your Uber account from their official website as well.

Given below are the steps:

Step 1: Login to the official website of Uber and sign-in with your credentials.

Step 2: At the bottom of the page, you shall see “Help Center”. When you click on it, you shall be redirected to a new page.

Step 3: You shall see a lot of links on this page. Under “Account and Payment Options”, select “Changing my Account Settings”. This will take you to a new page.

Step 4: Under “Changing my Account Settings”, you can see “Delete my Uber Account at the bottom of the list of options. Click on it.

Step 5: After you click on Delete my Uber Account, you shall be redirected to a new page. Just like the app, this page contains a little bit of information about your account deletion; it also makes you type “Yes” manually in the text box provided. After typing “Yes”, you can also select a reason from the list provided below; however, this is not a mandatory step. In the end, click on “Submit” and you’re done!

You shall get a confirmation message displayed on the screen telling you that the Uber team is in the receipt of your account deletion request.