Apple

Easily Disable the Slide Over Sidebar on iPad

ipad multi tasking
Written by Naveen Robsworth

The Slide Over Sidebar feature on iPad is one of the coolest features in the iOS9 which allows multitasking at ease. These multitasking features include Slide Over sidebar, side-by-side Split View, and Picture-in-Picture with videos floating on top of another app. These are exclusively for iPad models which have a 64-bit Apple A7 processor or better as picture-in-picture is a bit aggressive on the processor.

So, here’s how the Slide over Sidebar works. When you’re using an app, you can simply swipe from right to left of the screen to bring up a sidebar which occupies around one-third space on the screen. Now, you can simply switch to any other app by swiping from the top down. This feature works both in portrait and landscape orientations. Similarly, you can press and hold on to the divider in between the two apps and drag it to the center of the screen, this will activate the split screen feature called Split View.

Multitasking features are cool on iOS but they are rather annoying for many users who almost never use it. The little sidebar annoys people by surprisingly popping up from the right whenever an innocent finger touches the edge of the screen. Most importantly, elders and kids don’t like other apps popping up when they’re busy with what they’re doing. So, it’s useful to know how to disable this feature when not used. Today, we will show you how to disable the Slide Over Sidebar feature on iPad.

How to Disable the Slide Over Sidebar on iPad

  1. Open the Settings app on iPad and navigate to General section of the menu.
  2. Choose Multitasking option.
  3. Now, simply toggle the switch next to “Allow Multiple Apps” to the OFF position.
    disable slide over sidebar on ipad
  4. Finally, exit the Settings app.

Now, all the multitasking features of iOS are completely turned off which means no more slide over or split screens. Hurrah!!! Your parents will never complain about the Facebook feed popping up when they’re enjoying a good movie. If you want to enable the feature, just toggle the switch back again.